Otter provides different plans tailored to your needs. You can easily move between plans at any time if your workflow, organization, or individual needs change. This article will provide steps on how to revert your Business account back to a personal Pro or Basic account.
In order to downgrade your account, you will need to ensure your Business plan trial or paid subscription has been canceled, and that the billing period has expired.
For paid Business users
Please reference our Cancel your Otter Business subscription article for more information.
For our Business trial users
You will need to wait until your plan expires. You can find out when your plan expires by going to Account Settings > Plan. Under Plan Details, you will see when your trial expires.
To verify that your account is currently no longer on a trial or paid plan:
- Go to Account Settings > Plan
- Under Plan Details, it should show 'Business (Free) Plan'
Note: If you have multiple team members in your Business account, only the Owner or Admin(s) will be able to proceed with reverting the account.
Once your paid plan or trial has expired, a Revert plan option will show on the Account Settings > Plan page. Click Revert plan.
A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm these changes. Click Revert plan to proceed.
You will see a message confirming that your plan has been downgraded. The message may vary depending on your previous plan. Users will be reverted back to a Basic plan or an active Pro plan.
For users previously on the Basic plan
For users previously on a Pro plan that is still active
For accounts that have multiple team members
Additionally, you will receive an email confirming your changes.
Reverting just one user under a Workspace account
If you are not the owner or an admin of the account, you will need to contact your Otter Admin in order to revert your account back to a personal one.
For Owners or Admins, please contact support if you are wanting to keep your paid Business account and just need one or multiple users downgraded from your Workspace. In your support request, please let us know the name and email of the associated user(s) that you are wanting to be downgraded back to a personal account.
For deactivating or deleting a user instead, please refer to our Manage Members articles.