Customize how Otter automatically shares meeting notes from your calendar meetings. You can choose who meeting notes are shared with by default, manage their permission level, and customize sharing for individual calendar events.
Auto-share settings can be managed on both desktop & mobile. Changes are reflected across the account and all devices.
Find all of your Notetaker auto-share settings in Account Settings → Meetings or through the AI Notetaker settings on the homepage. Changes are reflected across your account in both locations.
Manage auto-share settings
Manage your default auto-share settings from the Otter homepage or Account Settings. Changes are reflected across your account in both locations.
Review auto-share from the homepage meeting settings Access AI Notetaker settings from the homepage to review your share settings
You can also review your account-level auto-share setting directly from the calendar on the Otter homepage.
-
Go to the Otter homepage and click on the Meetings tab in the right panel. Click on AI Notetaker settings.
-
Select your option under Share meetings notes with.
-
Click Confirm to save changes.
Review auto-share in Account Settings Review your default sharing settings in Account Settings to keep future meeting notes private
Review your account-level sharing settings to make sure conversations are not automatically shared with calendar guests.
-
Go to Account Settings → Meetings.
- Manage your share settings.
Review individual calendar event sharing settings
If a conversation is still being automatically shared, check the sharing settings for that specific calendar event. Settings that you previously changed for an individual event can override your account-level sharing preferences.
-
Go to the Otter homepage and click the Meetings tab in the right panel.
-
Click the calendar event you want to review. Review the individual sharing settings for:
- Share with calendar guests
- Share with channels and people
-
Share with link
-
Turn off any sharing options you do not want applied to the meeting to prevent the conversation from being automatically shared. To remove access for an individual person, click their permission and select No access.
Repeat these steps for any other upcoming calendar events that have individually configured sharing settings.
Manage your share settings on mobile
Learn how to manage your auto-share settings globally or per individual calendar evnet.
Manage auto-share settings Choose how meeting notes are automatically shared by default
Manage your default auto-share settings from the Otter homepage or Account Settings. Changes are reflected across your account in both locations.
-
Tap your profile in the upper-left corner.
-
Tap on Account Settings.
-
Tap on Meeting Settings.
-
Manage your share settings.
Click into each setting to manage. Learn more about each share setting.
Manage individual calendar events on mobile Customize sharing settings for specific calendar events
Individual calendar events can have their own sharing settings. If you previously customized the sharing settings for a specific event, your global auto-share settings will not override them. Review and manage the event separately to update its sharing settings.
-
Tap the calendar icon in the upper-right corner.
-
This will list all of your calendar events. Click on the event to manage the share settings.
Manage and customize sharing settings for each individual calendar event.
Understand your auto-share settings
Learn what each auto-share setting controls and how it affects who can access and share your meeting notes.
Default audience for shared notes Choose who automatically receives your meeting notes
Choose who automatically receives meeting notes from your calendar events.
All event guests
Automatically share the conversation with everyone invited as a guest on the calendar event.
Same domain guests
Automatically share the conversation with calendar event guests whose email domain matches a domain associated with your Workspace.
For example, if your Workspace domain is otter.ai, the conversation will be shared with invited guests whose email addresses end in @otter.ai, regardless of whether they have an Otter account.
This option is only available for Workspace domains that use a non-generic email domain. Generic domains include Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, and iCloud.
@otter.ai and another uses @beaverly.ai, invited guests with either email domain may be included when Same domain guests is selected.Workspace members
Automatically share the conversation with calendar event guests who are members of your Otter Workspace.
You can review your Workspace members under Workspace → Manage Workspace → Members.
Don't share
Keep meeting notes private by default. Conversations recorded through calendar events will not be automatically shared with anyone.
You can still manually share a conversation after the meeting or configure automatic sharing for an individual calendar event.
Default permission level Choose what people can do with meeting notes shared with them.
Choose the default level of access people have when your calendar event conversations are automatically shared with them.
Viewer
Viewers can:
- View and play back the conversation.
- Export the conversation if exporting is enabled by the conversation owner.
Viewers cannot edit the conversation or add or view Takeaways.
Collaborator
Collaborators can:
- View and play back the conversation.
- Edit and export the conversation.
- Add and view Takeaways.
- Share the conversation with others if Allow Collaborators to share is enabled by the conversation owner.
Allow Collaborators to share Control whether Collaborators can share your meeting notes with others
Control whether people with Collaborator permission can share your conversations with others.
- On: Collaborators can share the conversation with other people.
- Off: Collaborators can access the conversation based on their permissions, but cannot share it with others.
People with Viewer permission cannot share the conversation.
Collaborator share example
Gordan records a calendar event and shares the conversation with:
- Juniper as a Collaborator. If Allow Collaborators to share is turned on, Juniper can share the conversation with other people.
- Lyla as a Viewer. Lyla can view and play back the conversation but cannot share it with other people.
FAQs
Do auto-share settings apply to all recordings?
No. Auto-share settings only apply to conversations recorded through a calendar event, including:
- Meetings that Otter Notetaker is set to automatically join.
- Recordings started manually by clicking Record and selecting a calendar event.
Recordings that are not associated with a calendar event are not affected by these auto-share settings.
Why did turning off auto-share not stop sharing for some meetings?
Your account-level auto-share setting determines the default behavior for your calendar meetings. However, if you previously customized the sharing settings for an individual calendar event, Otter preserves those event-specific settings.
As a result, changing Default audience for shared notes to Don't share does not override sharing preferences that were already configured for an individual event.
Review the affected event on your Otter homepage and update its sharing settings manually.
I turned off both settings, but Otter is still sharing my conversations
If your account-level setting is set to Don't share and you have confirmed that sharing is turned off for the individual calendar event, contact our Otter Support team for further assistance.
When contacting our team, include the name and date of an affected meeting so the team can help investigate the sharing behavior.
Why am I missing some share settings?
If you don't see all of the share settings shown in this article, your workspace admin may have disabled or restricted certain sharing options for members.
Contact your workspace admin to confirm which sharing options are available for your workspace.
Feedback
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.