As part of putting you in control of your data and privacy, Otter gives you the ability to permanently delete your account at any time and for any reason.
This article provides information and answers to common questions about deleting your account. Make sure you read this entire page to understand what happens when your account is deleted.
About deleting your account
- When your account is deleted, the account details, conversations, and the data associated with your account are permanently deleted from Otter’s servers.
- You can't sign in to the account, and you won’t be able to access any data, content, or services that were associated with the account.
- Conversations and other content are permanently deleted.
- Deleting your account is permanent. After your account is deleted, Otter can't reopen or reactivate the account or restore your data. If you aren’t planning to use your account right now, have an active subscription, but may consider returning to it in the future, we recommend canceling the subscription instead of deleting the account.
- If you are a member of an Otter Business account, contact your administrator. If you are the administrator and need help, contact support for assistance.
- If you are unable to access your account, contact support for assistance.
Before deleting your account
We recommend that you take a few steps before you delete your account.
- If you are on a paid subscription, cancel your paid subscription first. When your account is deleted, the subscription is canceled at the end of the billing cycle.
- Export your conversations to a text or audio file that you currently need or expect to need.
How to permanently delete your account
Using a web browser
- Sign in to your Otter account at otter.ai.
- Click your profile photo or initial in the top left, and then click Account settings.
- Under the General tab, click Delete account.
Note: If you do not see the option to delete, you must cancel your paid subscription first.
- You'll be prompted to enter your password to verify you are the account owner. Enter your password and click Verify and continue.
- A confirmation message will confirm that you would like to delete your account. To proceed, click Delete.
Using the mobile app
- Open the Otter mobile app.
- Tap and tap Settings.
- Tap Delete account.
- A verification message will confirm that you would like to delete your account. To proceed, tap Verify and continue.
Frequently Asked Questions
What happens to my conversations when my account is deleted?
When your account is deleted, all of your conversations are permanently deleted as well.
What happens to the conversations that I've shared with others?
Any conversations that you've shared with others are permanently deleted as well and can no longer be accessed by others.
What happens to my subscriptions?
Any subscriptions that you have subscribed to, including purchases made through Apple iTunes and Google Play, are canceled at the end of the billing cycle when you delete your account.